Uncategorized

Gervonta Davis vs. Lamont Roach: NYSAC acknowledges referee’s

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

Gervonta Davis vs. Lamont Roach: NYSAC acknowledges referee’s error but declines to alter result

Gervonta Davis will keep his unbeaten record.

The New York State Athletic Commission ruled Friday that it will not be changing the result of Saturday’s “Tank” Davis vs. Lamont Roach WBA lightweight title bout.

Boxing Scene — which is owned by ProBoxTV, which co-promotes Roach — was first with the news.

Davis vs. Roach was ruled a majority decision draw (115-113, 114-114, 114-114), however Roach appealed the verdict due to the controversial call made by veteran referee Steve Willis in Round 9.

Davis dropped to one knee in the ninth, seconds after being hit with a left hand from Roach, the reigning WBA super featherweight champion. Willis began to administer a 10-count for Davis after he took the knee, but then inexplicably stopped and ultimately decided not to rule it a knockdown.

Davis said afterward that he took the knee so he could wipe his eyes after complaining that grease from his braids was bothering him, however, the rules of boxing are clear in not allowing fighters to call their own timeouts, thus Davis’ impromptu kneel-down should’ve been counted as a knockdown.

Write A Comment